Anonymous URLs … do you care?

In the age of twitter, URL shorteners (like bit.ly, is.gd, tinyurl.com etc) have proliferated. I’ve often wondered whether this is impacting the breadth of what people are reading on the web. Historically, a passionate anti-Guardian punter might refuse to click on a Guardian link they came across it, or a liberal chin-stroker would be worried about what their colleague think if they were caught browsing the Sun or the Daily Mail. But often these days we don’t know where we’re going. Yup, many sites now have their own bespoke short URLs (gu.com, huff.po, tgr.ph etc), but most don’t. I’m fascinated to know if you care. Thanks.

• Here’s another thing I wrote on media loyalty in the internet age. I’m not sure I agree with myself anymore, but there you go.

One response to “Anonymous URLs … do you care?

  1. It’s not so much not knowing which site I’m going to that annoys me; what really gets me is when someone tweets a shortened URL along with something like, “How cool is this? Check this out!” My phone takes ages to load websites so I’d rather know in advance if I’m going to be clicking to an interesting page…or if it’s something like lolcats and usually you can gather a bit of information from the long URL. So really I don’t fit into either of your above categories – shortened URLs annoy me because I’d rather know the content.

Leave a Reply

